Brisbane Roar

Belinda Wilson took over Brisbane Roar in 2012 as Australia’s third top tier female coach. She followed a Grand Final win in her first season (2012/13) and Runners up in her second. While Brisbane’s first female coach’s tenure did not ring with the success Roar fans had come to expect Belinda Wilson oversaw a period of transition within the squad.

Melissa Andreatta became Brisbane Roar’s coach in 2016. She’s also Assistant Coach of the Matildas. Even better still she’s a local. She began her playing career at Taringa Rovers, which quickly led to rep football for the City and State. Turning coach, she started at the Gap Football Club. She also coaches at Queensland’s National Training Centre (NTC), is heavily involved in State Team programs and, when she has time, teaches football at Cavendish Road football school of excellence. Brisbane Roar had one of their best seasons under Andreatta’s guidance. More recently, Jake Goodship took over as The Roar’s coach.

The current squad includes 6 Matildas and some experienced imports (from the US, Hong Kong, New South Wales, the ACT, and Victoria), but it is dominated by local talent. We reckon it’s the reason they’re so good. 

Brisbane Roar FC
Mel Andreatta
Mel Andreatta

The Matildas


They were very close to England who sit behind Germany and the World No.1 Team, the USA. The ranking followed victory at the Tournament of Nations in August 2017 where Australia beat the USA (1-0) on home soil and Japan and Brazil (6-1). The Matildas followed the tournament with a series of wins here in Australia, over Brazil and China.

The squad included a number of Brisbane and Queensland players, including Clare Polkinghorne (co-captain), Hayley Raso and Katrina Gorry from Brisbane and fellow Queenslanders, Mackenzie Arnold (Gold Coast) and Elise Kellond-Knight (Southport).

The Matildas have only been called the Matildas since 1995. Before that they were the Female Socceroos (we think it was a rubbish name too).

Our Brisbane Roar and Matilda Stars:

Katrina Gorry

Midfielder: named in the W-League team of the year.
Learn more about Katrina

Hayley Raso

Midfielder: named in the W-League team of the year.
Learn more about Hayley

Clare Polkinghorne

Defender: named in the 2000-2013 team of the decade.
Learn more about Clare

Brisbane Area Now