Women's Football in South West

South West is one of the largest zones in Queensland spanning an estimated 440,000kms. The area is situated on Jagera, Giabal and Jarowair land (Toowoomba and the surrounding area), stretching up to Baranggum land (Dalby and Chinchilla) and further north to Wakka Wakka and Wulli Wulli land (Kingaroy and Cherbourg). To the west, the zone includes Mandandanji land (the Roma area), Kooma land (the St George area) and further south east to Bigambul land (the Goondiwindi area).

Women started playing football in this area in 1913.

A “ladies versus gentlemen” match in Gatton during 1913, marks the earliest confirmed football game we know of where women played. Since that match women continued to play football in the south west zone.

In July of 1921, two women’s teams formed in Toowoomba (Cities and Rovers). Toowoomba went on to become a vibrant hub for female football players throughout the 1920s.

Unfortunately, the next record we have of football in Toowoomba and the surrounding area appears in the 1970s. In 1978, the Women’s State Championship began and Toowoomba entered into the competition. They competed every year after that.

During the 1980s and 1990s, the South West zone produced several star players who all played for Queensland.

Current clubs which field women’s teams are Willowburn, Rockville Rovers, West Wanderers, Highfields, USQ, Chinchilla, Gatton Redbacks, Ballandean, Santhorpe City, Stanthorpe United Redbacks, Tenterfield, Stanthorpe Carlton and Internationational.

Read a more in depth history of the region below.

Explore South West QLD through the decades:​