Women's Football in North Queensland

The North Queensland zone is situated on the Country of the Gudjal, Gugu-Badhun, Nyawaygi, Wulgurukaba and Bindal peoples. The zone stretches from Ayr, past Townsville up to Ingham, and inland to Charters Towers. 

Women started playing football in the North Queensland area during the 1970s.

The earliest record we can find of women’s football in the North Queensland area is during the 1970s. In the late 1970s there was a thriving Women’s Association in Townsville, reaching up to 100 members including 3 senior and 5 junior teams. 

But, by 1985 membership in the Women’s Association was dropping and the women’s division came under the control of the North Queensland’s mens association. 

Women’s football appeared to pick up again in the 1990s and in 2015, North Queensland Football Limited was created to improve and grow the game. The North Queensland Zone consists of 13 Clubs, 7 of which field premier women’s teams (Brothers TownsvilleRebelsMA OlympicWulguru UnitedSaints Eagles SouthTownsville Warriors and Burdekin).

Read a more in depth history of the region below.

Explore the zone's unique history by decade: