Competition Continues

During the 1980s, competition continued to thrive in the Sunshine Coast with the Sunshine Coast Soccer Association registering 108 teams (1,823 players) in 1981. During this period some clubs achieved remarkable results. For example, in 1981 Noosa created Sunshine Coast football history by becoming the first club to win the premiership-grand final double in both A and Reserve Grades. Then, in 1985 Buderim managed to take out an impressive number of premierships and finals (1st Division Premiership, Grand Final, Clive Fenn Cup, Qantas Cup, 2nd Division Premiership, Colts Premiership and Grand Final, Junior Premierships in Under 11’s, Under 14’s and the Junior Grand Final in Under 14’s)

These notes are drawn from those written by Mark Pringle. Read more about football in the Sunshine Coast during the 1980s.